The history of the Coes Faen Estate dates back to around 1865, when the railway first came to the area and started the transformation of Abermaw (Barmouth) from a shipbuilding, fishing and trading rural community to a Victorian seaside resort destination in North West Wales. Coes Faen Hall, known far and wide as The Clock House, a Grade II Victorian Gothic home, sits in a majestic position near the mouth of the Mawddach estuary, between the Snowdonia peaks and the Cader Idris Range. The Clock House was acquired by the Lowe family in the Victorian era. They were originally mill-owners, who added the main central section including the clock tower itself and the veranda. Aberystwyth University academics dated one of the walls in the boot room as medieval, back to the times of Henry II. Whilst an iconic building, The Clock House is first and foremost a family home.
From every room are stunning views of the estuary, the mountains - or both! The main reception rooms are filled with light, with wonderful high ceilings. In particular, the drawing room has different sea views from three windows. The veranda wraps around the ground floor, a wonderful place from which to enjoy morning coffee with spectacular sunrises, to a cool drink with the sunset over the historic railway bridge crossing the mouth of the estuary. The kitchen was hand built and is perfect for the keen cook. There is a sizable study, a cosy sitting room, useful and stylish utility room, and large coat and boot cupboard.
The lower ground floor houses a self-contained family suite with two bedrooms and a bathroom and access to the terrace, a cloakroom, a cinema/playroom, and a wonderful sitting/dining room with an 'outdoor' kitchen which leads out onto the terrace which adjacent to the stone wall of the estuary boundary.
On the first floor are four double bedrooms, one with en-suite cloakroom, a beautifully fitted bathroom and shower room.