Just outside Perugia and close to a town with all the services, this beautiful Benedictine monastery has been converted into a fascinating 4-star hotel with 64 bedrooms, restaurant, six elegant conference hall and over 50,000 square meters of park. Fully restored, the building incorporates Romanesque and Baroque elements that concur at creating a very charming and majestic atmosphere. The lush park is home to two pools (18 × 10 m and 9 × 5 m), tennis courts and futsal fields.
Services are all reached in less than two minutes by car and many of the most notable historic cities of Umbria can be reached in less than two hours by car (Perugia, Umbertide, Assisi, Città di Castello, Castiglione del Lago).
DESCRIPTION OF THE BUILDINGS
The hotel (5,000 sqm – 53,800 sqft, 64 bedrooms and 68 bathrooms) has been created by converting a Benedictine monastery that has been carefully preserved and restored without altering the unique features that makes it stand out, among which the charming church of San Clemente.
From a business perspective, the hotel features a total of 64 bedrooms that can accommodate up to 160 guests. All the bedrooms boast air conditioning for maximum comfort.
Three beautiful restaurant halls offer 360 seats in an elegant background characterized by two stunning frescoed halls plus the spacious veranda that can accommodated up to 160 guests alone. The restaurant is the ideal location for ceremonies, meetings and weddings. For convenience, the restaurant is serviced by a private 300-car parking lot.
In the oldest and most fascinating wing of the monastery six elegant meeting halls have been created that can be used for business meetings, conferences, reunions, seminars and other events. The halls are all very characteristic, with decorated ceilings, brick vaults, original terracotta floors and perfectly preserved original frescoes.
HISTORY OF THE MONASTERY
The history of the convent begins in the 11th century, when in the same place there was a church dedicated to San Clemente. The convent itself was built around 1331 and was managed by several priors over the following centuries. Details from the 15th and 16th centuries are a bit scarce since the area of Perugia underwent a pretty significant turmoil in those years.
In 1727 the convent was bought by the Florentine family Cesari that transformed part of the building into a private luxury home, incorporating the church that became more of a manorial chapel at that point. Together with the conversion, the family also restored the other parts of the convent that shifted from a Romanesque style to a more modern and elaborate Baroque style.
Passing though several hands between 19th and 20th century, what was at that point just a manorial villa was ultimately converted in 1990 into the beautiful hotel visible nowadays.
The hotel is immersed in a beautiful 50,000-square meters park that includes a stunning Italian garden in the courtyard of the convent and an English garden all around the building.
A short distance from the complex are the two swimming pools 18 x 10 m and 9 x 5 m intended respectively for adults and children, two clay tennis courts and two futsal fields.